For the good of the sport, SHARE...
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on LinkedIn

From WBF:

Female Newcomer Of The Year

Oshin Derieuw (France)

Previous Winners:
2016: Segolene Lefebvre (France).
2015: Dan Bi Kim (South Korea).
2014: Melanie Zwecker (Germany).
2013: Natalia Smirnova (Russia).
2012: Raja Amasheh (Germany).
2011: Zita Zatyko (Hungary).

Once again, like in the previous year, the Female Newcomer of the Year award goes to the North of France, this time in the person of Oshin Derieuw – and don’t be surprised if like last year’s winner Segolene Lefebvre, the 30-year-old Derieuw goes on to become a world champion in 2018.

Here’s a short recap of the unbeaten Oshin’s body of work over the previous 12 months: It started in April with a 6-round points win against undefeated Aleksandra Vujovic. One month later, Derieuw beat French rival Marion Montanari on a 10-round shutout to get her hands on the WBF International lightwelterweight belt.

Finally, in November she rematched Vujovic with the vacant WBF Intercontinental title on the line. The performance Derieuw put in that night is the essence of why she is a top candidate for higher honors.

She moved and boxed, she feinted and weaved, she showed an array of punches from a variety of angles, what to speak of superb ring generalship, and finished the fight, after scoring an earlier knockdown, with a clean KO in the seventh round. Keep an eye on Oshin, 7-0 (4), this year. It promises to be worth it.


Press Releases

#WomenofBoxing Press Release Promotion account. Send us any boxing press releases for publication to the fans and supporters of the sport! Send press to: or call 312.473.3000

More Posts - Website

Follow Me: